Home / Curriculum

The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) has rolled out its latest policy, termed the ‘Uniform Assessment, Examination and Report Card’.

The new system does away with the practice of awarding grades and replaces it with marks. Scholastic performance evaluated through written examinations will carry greater weightage than the combination of periodic tests, notebook submission and subject enrichment activity.

The new system also aims to bring about uniformity in the pattern of examination across all CBSE schools. As a first step in this direction, the Board has also issued a format of the report card along with its circular.

Let us look at some of the key features of the remodeled CBSE pattern to learn how it is going to affect students.

Key features of the new CBSE assessment scheme

1. Parameters of assessment

According to the new guidelines, the parameters of assessment will be as follows:

A. Scholastic performance: Both marks and grades will be awarded for individual subjects.

B. Co-scholastic performance: Grades will be awarded for nonscholastic performance in three categories – Work Education (or prevocational education), Art Education, and Health and Physical Education.

C. Discipline: Grades will be awarded to students after evaluating their commitment to discipline, which includes attendance, sincerity, behaviour and values.

2. Weightage and examination pattern

A. For Kindergarten

There will be 3 test series for classes Play, Nursery, and KG- (T1,T2,T3) will be scheduled and will be evaluated in the month of July, September and February respectively. These series will be assessed on the basis of the child’s day to day performance.

Term Exams (Half Yearly & Annual) will be scheduled and will be evaluated in the month of September and March respectively.

B. For classes I to VIII

Classes I to VIII will have the same format of assessment. However, a class year has been divided into two Terms. So, students of these classes will have to appear for exams twice a year, i.e., at the end of each Term. While questions in the Term 1 exam will be based on the syllabus covered during that term, a certain percentage of questions in the Term 2 exam will be based on the Term 1 syllabus.

C. For class IX

The pattern of examination for class IX will be similar to that of class X with only one exam at the end of the academic year. Out of a total of 100 marks, 80 marks have been assigned to written exams while the remaining 20 have been divided among three disciplines: periodic tests (10 marks), notebook submission (5 marks) and subject enrichment activity (5 marks).

D. For class XI

For Promotion of the next class-

  1. The qualifying marks in each subject of internal/external examination shall be 33%. However in  a subject involving practical work, a candidate must obtain 33% marks in theory and 33% marks in practical separately in addition to 33% in aggregate to qualify in that subject.
  2. The pass Marks in each subject in internal/external examination shall be 33%.
  3. General Studies, work Experience, Physical and Health Education, will be assessed internally by the school.
  4. 75% attendance is must for every student to write Annual Exams.